South Australia Nominees Announced For 2021 Australian of the Year Awards


The nominees for the 2021 SA Australian of the Year Awards include advocates for disability, road safety and the vision impaired, an Indigenous artist and cultural leader, the state’s Chief Medical Officer, a woman helping keep pets and families safe from domestic violence and the first Indigenous AFL executive. 

They are among 16 South Australians in the running to be named the state’s Local Hero, Young Australian, Senior Australian or Australian of the Year. 

The 2021 South Australia award nominees are: 

2021 SA Australian of the Year 

Tanya Hosch – Leader, changemaker, visionary (Golden Grove, Adelaide) 

Jennifer Howard – CEO and founder Safe Pets Safe Families (Huntfield Heights, Adelaide) 

Dr Joy O’Hazy – Doctor and initiator of Birthing Kits (Belair, Adelaide) 

Professor Nicola Spurrier – Chief Public Health Officer, paediatrician and physician (City of Mitcham) 

2021 SA Senior Australian of the Year 

Professor Richard Bruggeman – Disability advocate (Kensington Park, Adelaide) 

Pamela Catcheside – Mycologist (Bellevue Heights) 

Peter Mungkuri OAM – Artist and cultural leader (Indulkana) 

Dr David Squirrell – Advocate for the vision impaired (Hallett Cove) 

2021 SA Young Australian of the Year 

Alicia Beik – Businesswoman and migrant activist (Modbury) 

Isobel Marshall – Social entrepreneur (Adelaide) 

Tori Marshall – Founder and Director of Lift Up Voices (Parkside, Adelaide) 

Holly Scott – Road safety advocate (Mount Barker) 

2021 SA Local Hero 

Russell Ebert OAM – Respectful relationships advocate (West Lakes, Adelaide) 

Rodney O’Brien – Kaurna Cultural Advisor (Alberton) 

Craig Scott – President Goodwood Saints Football Club (West Beach, Adelaide) 

Melanie Tate – CEO and founder Puddle Jumpers Inc (Glandore) 


The nominees are among 128 people being recognised across all states and territories as part of the program, which began in 1960. 

The four award recipients from South Australia will be announced on the evening of Monday 12 October 2020 in a ceremony at Adelaide Oval and also available to watch online via livestream.


They will then join the other state and territory recipients as national finalists for the national awards announcement on 25 January 2021. 

National Australia Day Council CEO Karlie Brand said the South Australia nominees reflect the many ways in which people contribute to the community. 

“In a year which has been particularly challenging for everyone, the South Australia award nominees remind us how important leadership, advocacy and inclusion are,” said Ms Brand. 

“There are so many people in our communities making a real difference, helping others and lifting us up to be better.”



Twitter: @AusoftheYear and #AusoftheYear 

Facebook: @AustralianoftheYear