NSW Nominees Announced For 2021 Australian of the Year Awards


NSW Nominees Announced For 2021 Australian of the Year Awards 

Twitter: @AusoftheYear and #AusoftheYear 
Facebook: @AustralianoftheYear 

The nominees for the NSW Australian of the Year Awards include a pilot and Invictus Games medallist, the woman who moved Australians to #buyfromthebush, a former Socceroo fighting for refugee rights, an advocate for voluntary assisted dying, volunteers, an inventor, a founding member of the Guide Dogs and the man who led NSW through the catastrophic 2019/20 bushfires. 

They are among 16 NSW nominees in the running to be named the state’s Local Hero, Young Australian, Senior Australian or Australian of the Year. 

The 2021 NSW award nominees are: 

2021 NSW Australian of the Year 

Grace Brennan – Founder #buyfromthebush (Warren) 

Andrew Denton – Advocate for dying Australians (Robertson) 

Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons AFSM – Ex-NSW Fire Commissioner, leader of Resilience NSW (Berowra Heights) 

Craig Foster – Human rights and refugee ambassador (Sydney) 

2021 NSW Senior Australian of the Year 

Doug Cameron – Founding member of Guide Dogs NSW-ACT and philanthropist (Newcastle) 

George Chapman – Volunteer (Dubbo) 

Isabel Reid – Elder and advocate for the Stolen Generation (Wagga Wagga) 

Professor Neil Weste – Engineer, inventor and technologist (Sydney) 

2021 NSW Young Australian of the Year 

Isabella Bain – User Experience Designer, Co-founder of Ambient & Co, World Champion athlete (Sydney) 

Joseph Bennett – Founder of Foster the Future (Sydney) 

Bronte Hendricks – Disability advocate (Sydney) 

Nathan Parker – Pilot, Invictus Games gold medallist (Lismore) 

2021 NSW Local Hero 

Louise Hardman – Scientist, innovator and waste-free plastics educator (Coffs Harbour) 

Suzanne Hopman – CEO of Dignity Ltd, homelessness advocate (Sydney) 

Rosemary Kariuki – Advocate for migrant and refugee women (Oran Park) 

Lana Masterson – Down The Track (Lake Cargellico) 


The nominees are among 128 people being recognised across all states and territories as part of the program, which began in 1960. 

The NSW award recipients will be announced in a ceremony at Luna Park, Sydney, on the evening of 

Monday 9 November 2020. The ceremony will also be livestreamed via Facebook @AustralianoftheYear. 

The NSW award recipients will then join the other state and territory recipients as national finalists for the national awards announcement on 25 January 2021. 

National Australia Day Council CEO Karlie Brand said the NSW nominees showed the diversity of contribution and achievement in the community. 

“The people of NSW can be very proud of their award nominees – they are an exceptional group of people doing amazing things,” said Ms Brand. 

“Their efforts and achievements remind us that greatness comes in many forms.” 

For more information on the Australian of the Year Awards visit australianoftheyear.org.au. 


Nominee bios attached with this media release or can be viewed from australianoftheyear.org.au. 

Nominee photos can be downloaded from australianoftheyear.org.au. 

Media contact: Nicole Browne 0414 673 762 or nicole@mediaopps.com.au