Northern Territory Nominees Announced For 2021 Australian of the Year Awards


Twitter: @AusoftheYear and #AusoftheYear
Facebook: @AustralianoftheYear 

The nominees for the 2021 Northern Territory Australian of the Year Awards include a world-renowned surgeon, a beloved restaurateur, Indigenous community leaders and advocates, a school principal and a volunteer firefighter.

They are among 16 NT residents in the running to be named the state’s Local Hero, Young Australian, Senior Australian or Australian of the Year.

The 2021 Northern Territory award nominees are:


2021 NT Australian of the Year

Dorrelle Anderson – First Aboriginal Executive Director for Territory Families (Alice Springs)

Margaret Chamberlain – School principal and para-swimming official (Katherine)

Megan Hoosan – Subject of documentary “In My Blood It Runs” (Alice Springs)

Dr Wendy Page – Global expert in Aboriginal health (Nhulunbuy)


2021 NT Senior Australian of the Year

Dr Ollapallil Jacob – World-renowned surgeon (Alice Springs)

Jimmy Shu – Successful restaurateur (Darwin)

Beverley Shuker – Volunteer for Darwin River Bushfire Brigade (Darwin)

Dr Miriam-Rose Ungunmerr Baumann AM – Aboriginal activist, educator and artist (Daly River)


2021 NT Young Australian of the Year

Matthew Axten – Educator and mentor (Alice Springs)

Nicole Civitarese – Community champion (Tennant Creek)

Dr Sanjay Joseph – Medical practitioner and co-founder of Healthy Start Darwin (Darwin)

Stuart McGrath – Aboriginal health practitioner (Galiwin’ku Community, Elcho Island)


2021 NT Local Hero

Josephine Crofts – Community worker (Maningrida)

Sergeant Erica Gibson – Police officer and safer communities advocate (Katherine)

Jason Hanna – Business leader (Darwin)

Reanna Sanders – Founder of Auntys Free Feeds (Palmerston)


*see bios on following pages

The nominees are among 128 people being recognised across all states and territories as part of the program, which began in 1960.

The Northern Territory award recipients will be announced in a ceremony hosted by the NT Chief Minister, the Honourable Mr Michael Gunner MLA, at Darwin Convention Centre at 6pm on Wednesday 4 November 2020. The ceremony will also be livestreamed via Facebook @AustralianoftheYear.

The Northern Territory award recipients will then join the other state and territory recipients as national finalists for the national awards announcement on 25 January 2021. 

National Australia Day Council CEO Karlie Brand said the NT nominees were making an impact at local, territory and even global levels.

“These extraordinary Territorians are hugely inspirational for their contributions and achievements – they reflect the richness of life in the territory and the importance of community,” said Ms Brand. 

Australia Day Council NT Chair Nigel Browne congratulated all the Northern Territory nominees.

“The 2021 NT nominees are shining examples of care and compassion, of role models and of people who make the Northern Territory a better, safer place to live,” said Mr Browne.

For more information on the Australian of the Year Awards visit


Nominee bios attached with this media release or can be viewed from

Nominee photos can be downloaded from

Media contact: Nicole Browne 0414 673 762    or