Nominees for the 2022 Victoria Australian of the Year Awards Announced



Twitter: @AusoftheYear and #AusoftheYear Facebook: @AustralianoftheYear

Nominees for the 2022 Victoria Australian of the Year Awards include a young man making meals for healthcare workers, a koala conservationist, the founder of a Sikh volunteer group, a human rights advocate, an SES worker and the only man to win the tennis Golden Slam.

They are among 16 Victorians in the running to be named the Victoria Local Hero, Young Australian, Senior Australian or Australian of the Year.

The 2022 Victoria award nominees are:

Victoria Australian of the Year

Dylan Alcott OAM - Athlete, paralympian, philanthropist, media commentator and advocate (Melbourne) Professor Bronwyn Fox - Chief Scientist at CSIRO and public speaker (Hawthorn, Melbourne) Nyadol Nyuon - Human rights and refugee advocate (Lynbrook)
Kimbarlie (Kim) O'Reilly - Domestic violence survivor, advocate (Melbourne/Mildura)

Victoria Young Australian of the Year

Alex Dekker - Founder of Alex Makes Meals (Clayton)
Libby Fisher - Koala and wildlife conservationist (Diamond Creek)
Keeden Graham - Indigenous youth mentor (Torquay)
Ahmed Hassan - Co-founder and executive director of Youth Activating Youth (Brunswick)

Victoria Senior Australian of the Year

Sister Brigid Arthur - Asylum seeker activist (Albert Park)
Gaye Hamilton - Deputy Chancellor of Victoria University (Inverloch)
Mabel Hibbert - Community volunteer (Oakleigh)
Dr Helen Kouzmin - Specialist physician (East Ivanhoe)

Victoria Local Hero

Leo op den Brouw - Volunteer with the Mallacoota State Emergency Service (Mallacoota)
Phaik See (Cecilia) Chuah - Community volunteer (Brunswick West, Melbourne)
Grant Hansen - Musician and broadcaster (Derrimut, Melbourne)
Jaswinder Singh - Co-founder and secretary of Sikh Volunteers Australia (Hallam)

The nominees are among 129 people being recognised across all states and territories as part of the program, which began in 1960.

The four award recipients from Victoria will be announced on the evening of Wednesday 10 November 2021 in an online, livestreamed ceremony.

They will then join the other state and territory recipients as national finalists for the national awards announcement on 25 January 2022.

National Australia Day Council CEO Karlie Brand congratulated the Victorian nominees for their achievements and contributions.

“The Victorian nominees are extraordinary people whose accomplishments are inspirational,” said Ms Brand.

“They lead by example and make pathways for others.
“They remind us that greatness comes in many forms and that we all have something to give.”