Nominees for the 2024 SA Australian of the Year Awards Announced






An environmental scientist and explorer, health advocates, a former Navy officer helping veterans, an SES volunteer and an elite athlete with Down syndrome are among nominees for the 2024 Australian of the Year Awards for South Australia.

The 2024 award nominees are:

2024 Australian of the Year for South Australia
Stella Braund - Mental health advocate (Trinity Gardens)
Associate Professor Susan Evans - Co-founder, Pelvic Pain Foundation of Australia (Kent Town)
Timothy Jarvis AM - Environmental scientist and advocate (Hyde Park)
Commissioner April Lawrie - Changemaker for Aboriginal children and community (Kaurna country/Kilburn)

2024 Senior Australian of the Year for South Australia
Professor Frances Baum AO - Health equity advocate (Henley Beach)
Commander Stephen Dunning RAN (Ret’d) - Mental health and disability advocate for veterans (Mount Barker)
Sister Meredith Evans - Sister of Mercy (Underdale)
Glyn Scott - Founder, Love Hope & Gratitude Foundation (Mount Barker)

2024 Young Australian of the Year for South Australia
Tiahni Adamson - Wildlife conservation biologist (Adelaide)
Qasem Bahmanzadah - Ambassador, mentor and volunteer (Pooraka)
Kylan Beech - Fundraiser, Cancer Council (Adelaide)
Hugo Taheny - Elite athlete and health ambassador, Down Syndrome Australia (Point Turton)

2024 Local Hero for South Australia
Chris McDermott - Founder, Little Heroes Foundation (Adelaide)
Jack Nixon - Volunteer, state emergency services (Loveday)
Pauly Vandenbergh - Co-founder, Tjindu Foundation (Birkenhead)
Rachael Zaltron OAM - Founder, Backpacks 4 SA Kids (Ridgehaven)

The South Australia nominees are among 133 people being recognised across all states and territories.

The South Australia award recipients will be announced on Wednesday 1 November 2023 in a ceremony at Adelaide Oval, which will also be available to watch online at

They will then join the other state and territory recipients as national finalists for the national awards announcement on Thursday 25 January 2024 in Canberra. 

National Australia Day Council CEO Mark Fraser AO CVO congratulated the South Australia nominees on their recognition.

“The nominees for the South Australia awards share a common thread of helping others and bringing attention to issues which need action,” said Mark.

“They are ‘doers’ – people who make a difference, who won’t be told they can’t do something, who want to bring about change, who take action. They provide great inspiration for us all.”



Nominee bios can be viewed on the homepage.

Nominee photos can be downloaded from this link: South Australia Nominee Photos





MEDIA CONTACT: Nicole Browne 0414 673 762    or