NSW nominees announced for 60th anniversary of the Australian of the Year Awards

Posted 29 October 2019 9:00am

The nominees for the 2020 NSW Australian of the Year Awards include a lifesaving blood donor, a rural champion, a human rights activist surgeon and a slam poet.

They are among 16 NSW people in the running to be named the state's Local Hero, Young Australian, Senior Australian or Australian of the Year as the nation celebrates the 60th anniversary of the awards.

The 2020 NSW award nominees are:

2020 NSW Australian of the Year

  • Professor Munjed Al Muderis - Orthopaedic surgeon and human rights advocate (Sydney)
  • Damon Gameau - Filmmaker, actor and climate change activist (Bangalow)
  • Lorraine Gordon - Rural champion (North Coast)
  • Dr John Swinnen OAM - Vascular surgeon and humanitarian (Strathfield)

2020 NSW Senior Australian of the Year

  • James Harrison OAM - Lifesaving blood donor (Central Coast)
  • Eddie Jaku OAM - Holocaust survivor (Sydney)
  • Sue Lennox - Environmental educator and social enterprise founder (Bellingen)
  • Bobby Redman - Dementia advocate (Central Coast)

2020 NSW Young Australian of the Year

  • HY William Chan - Entrepreneur, urban designer and lifesaver (Sydney)
  • Bassam Maaliki - Refugee advocate and fundraiser (Sydney)
  • Holley Somerville Knott - Environmentalist, singer, speaker and slam poet (Ballina)
  • Corey Tutt - Indigenous mentor and fundraiser (Gordon)

2020 NSW Local Hero

  • Peter Frazer - Road safety advocate and speaker (Blue Mountains)
  • Doug Hawkins - Coogee surf lifesaver volunteer, trainer, mentor (Coogee)
  • Kath Koschel - Kindness activist (Sydney)
  • Bernie Shakeshaft - Founder of BackTrack Youth Works Program (Armidale)

The nominees are among 128 people being recognised across all states and territories as part of the program, which began in 1960.
The four award recipients from NSW will be announced on the evening of Monday 4 November 2019 at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Sydney.

They will then join the other state and territory recipients for the national awards ceremony at the National Arboretum in Canberra on 25 January 2020.

National Australia Day Council CEO Karlie Brand said the NSW nominees were leaders in their fields and in the community.

“The 60th anniversary of the Australian of the Year Awards is a particularly special time to be nominated,” said Ms Brand.

“The 2020 NSW nominees are inspirational people from diverse backgrounds and areas of endeavour. They remind us of how rich in humanity we are.”

For more information on the Australian of the Year Awards visit australianoftheyear.org.au.

Nominee bios attached with this media release or can be viewed from australianoftheyear.org.au. Nominee photos can be downloaded from australianoftheyear.org.au.

Media contact: Nicole Browne 0414 673 762 or nicole@mediaopps.com.au