ACT nominees announced for 60th anniversary of the Australian of the Year Awards

Posted 18 October 2019 9:00am

The nominees for the 2020 ACT Australian of the Year Awards include a women's rugby league pioneer, a foster carer, an alpaca therapy provider and a young woman helping drought-stricken farmers.

They are among 16 ACT people in the running to be named the territory's Local Hero, Young Australian, Senior Australian or Australian of the Year as the nation celebrates the 60th anniversary of the awards.

The 2020 ACT award nominees are:

2020 ACT Australian of the Year

  • Katrina Fanning – Women's rugby league pioneer (Canberra)
  • Martin Fisk – Campaigner for young men (Canberra)
  • Mary Kirk AM – Advocate for pregnant women and newborns (Bruce) 
  • Hugh Mackay AO – Social research pioneer and psychologist (Canberra)

2020 ACT Senior Australian of the Year

  • Nils Lantzke – Animal therapy provider (Canberra)
  • Dr Anne Martin AM – Director and Aboriginal education mentor (Canberra) 
  • Sue Salthouse – Leader and disability advocate (Kingston)
  • Samson Wong – Advocate for migrants and multiculturalism (Canberra)

2020 ACT Young Australian of the Year

  • Madeline Diamond – Sustainability advocate (Canberra) 
  • Morgan Marshall – STEM ambassador (Canberra)
  • Emily Patterson – Advocate for drought-stricken farmers (Canberra) 
  • Tilleah Roselli – Advocate for youth living in care (Canberra)

2020 ACT Local Hero

  • Hannah Andrevski – Charity founder (Canberra)
  • Chris Endrey – Musician and arts advocate (Canberra) 
  • Mandy Larsson OAM – Lifeline leader (Canberra)
  • Julia Rollings – Foster carer (Canberra)

The nominees are among 128 people being recognised across all states and territories as part of the program, which began in 1960.

The four award recipients from the ACT will be announced on Monday 28 October 2019 at the National Gallery of Australia in Canberra.

They will then join the other state and territory recipients for the national awards ceremony at the National Arboretum in Canberra on 25 January 2020.

National Australia Day Council CEO Karlie Brand said the ACT nominees were leaders in their fields and in the community.

"The 60th anniversary of the Australian of the Year Awards is a particularly special time to be nominated," said Ms Brand.

"The 2020 ACT nominees are influencing our society and communities in many positive ways, focusing attention on those in need and helping to shape a better future for us all."

For more information on the Australian of the Year Awards visit

Media contact: Nicole Browne 0414 673 762 or